A unique and attractive feature of a retirement lifestyle in North Carolina is the rich, diverse and geographically convenient network of public, North Carolina-supported universities. The parent organization, the University of North Carolina, is a public, multi-campus university dedicated to the service of North Carolina and its people. It encompasses 16 diverse constituent institutions and other educational, research, and public service organizations. Each shares in the overall mission of the University.

Collectively, the system had approximately 175,000 undergraduates and 45,500 graduate students enrolled in the fall of 2011. Interestingly, students over the age of 35 represent 6% of the undergraduate enrollment across the system.

The University’s stated mission is to discover, create, transmit, and apply knowledge to address the needs of individuals and society. This mission is accomplished through instruction, which communicates the knowledge and values and imparts the skills necessary for individuals to lead responsible, productive, and personally satisfying lives; through research, scholarship, and creative activities, which advance knowledge and enhance the educational process; and through public service, which contributes to the solution of societal problems and enriches the quality of life in the State. In the fulfillment of this mission, the University shall seek an efficient use of available resources to ensure the highest quality in its service to the citizens of the State.

Teaching and learning constitute the primary service that the University renders to society. Teaching, or instruction, is the primary responsibility of each of the constituent institutions. The relative importance of research and public service, which enhance teaching and learning, varies among the constituent institutions, depending on their overall missions.

NC University System Map

The University of North Carolina’s Institutions:

  1. Western Carolina University, Cullowhee
  2. UNC Asheville
  3. Appalachian State University, Boone
  4. UNC Charlotte
  5. UNC School of the Arts, Winston-Salem
  6. Winston-Salem State University
  7. UNC Greensboro
  8. NC A&T State University, Greensboro
  9. NC School of Science and Mathematics, Durham
  10. UNC Chapel Hill
  11. North Carolina Central University, Durham
  12. NC State University, Raleigh
  13. Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville
  14. UNC Pembroke
  15. UNC Wilmington
  16. East Carolina University, Greenville
  17. Elizabeth City State University, Elizabeth City

Continuing Education & Training
Throughout the calendar year, the sixteen constituent universities of The University of North Carolina offer lifelong learners myriad continuing education opportunities, including professional development, career advancement, and personal enrichment programs in areas of interest ranging from business and law to health care and wellness — many of them online.

Each university's slate of offerings changes regularly and enrollment is frequently limited, so to access the course or program that suits your needs and interests, browse the link below frequently and take advantage of the many intellectual and technical resources available through The University of North Carolina.  

Can't Find the Information You Are Looking For? Let us know.